Something a little more edifying

OK newsflash,

The Pope gave a fantastic off the cuff speech, showing how his genius is not even beginning to peak at 83 years of age.

Gotta love the Pope!

And the triple tiara is back on the papal coat of arms Hazar! Nice to know the Holy See isn’t pandering to the just the bishop of Rome crowd!

But since anyone who reads my blog will have hopefully read those blogs before mine, I should say something else.

Something edifying is in order.

Having ripped into the Bishops of E&W in my previous post I’d like to praise our parish priests, they have to suffer through an English seminary, get all the grief from mad parishioners (I don’t exclude myself from that group), they are the front line of the faith.  I’ve been so very lucky with all the priests who’ve ministered to me.

The phrase too holy to be a priest is such a tragic one really, since being on the front line of the faith they will be attacked spiritually more than the average Catholic, they will need great holiness just to survive spiritually and emotionally.

If you have a troublesome parish priest, I suggest shopping around for a new parish if you can.  To the people who say this is wrong, I say do you think you are spiritually strong? I know I’m not, don’t suffer in silence till your faith fades and you lapse, vote with your feet. Thankfully the bad eggs are so very few and the good eggs are very many.

We should all pray for our parish priest, thank God for them, and pray for their protection from spiritual attack.

Saint Michael the Archangel,
defend us in battle.
Be our protection against the wickedness and snares of the devil.
May God rebuke him, we humbly pray;
and do Thou, O Prince of the Heavenly Host –
by the Divine Power of God –
cast into hell, satan and all the evil spirits,
who roam throughout the world seeking the ruin of souls.

May our priests continue to be zealous, virtuous and Orthodox! Amen.

One thought on “Something a little more edifying

  1. I reed to moved and registered into a parish that is now 10 years old. Having gone to Sunday Masses, one weekday Mass and one Holy Thursday fiasco. I attended one Liturgy Committee meeting and was appalled by the lack of pastoral leadership. It was as if the rooster was completely hen pecked by the hens who had all to say about what he, as priest, would do at every celebration. The religious sister also had her say to the point where she would be washing the feet of anyone who wanted their feet washed during the Mandatum. That made four (three priests) and her. The readings for Holy Thursday were an ongoing mishmosh of three readings (OT, NT, Gospel) being proclaimed as if it were one reading. This was some sort of “nunsense” the Sister brought w/her. I questioned as to what they were doing and by whose authority they were doing it only to be reminded that I was there as an observer only. I no longer attend Mass there.
    It brought a smile to my face when I saw the Prayer to St. Michael the Archangel. At my former parish in Philadelphia I was constantly harassed by a curate. Due to the politics of that Archdiocese nothing would be done about him (his cousin was the auxiliary bishop). One night I drove around around the rectory three times sprinkling holy water while reciting that prayer; he was transferred the following week.

Leave a Reply

