Well, its international Gaia worship day, according to google…

The less said about it the better really, instead why not notice that a good proportion of the planet’s population will be worshiping Jesus and venerating the cross?

Anyway, yes. We did that today, as will be no shock to anyone. Isn’t it quite a thing? Do protestants have anything like it? High Anglo Catholics probably don’t quite count, so no.

It is so touching to see people go forward and venerate the cross in various different ways often depending on cultural background, and to see how deeply personal a thing it is, but all venerating it together in the community of the Church.

The intercessions annoyed me, are they being re-translated as part of the new missal? I hope so! It especially annoys me that we don’t really even pray for the conversion of the Jews anymore, doesn’t that rankle? It is not antisemitic to believe that Jesus is the only route to salvation, speak to any Jew and they will not be offended by it they will simply say they disagree.

This is where the perfidious Jews slander comes in, the Latin actually means unbelieving, surely it is perfectly fair and right to pray for Jews to come to know Christ. To pray for the Jews in generalisation as if they are somehow different to us in their needs for salvation is perhaps more racist and possibly heretical.

The other thing that annoyed me was we had female, or wimmin*, Passion readers (*Said with an Irish accent, since we all become slightly Irish when we convert to Catholicism in this country). Sorry it may be long, but it is still a Gospel reading, in the absence of having three clergymen can we still have men please?! Same with our ‘apostles’ yesterday, we had 6 men and 6 women, do I detect a faint whiff of an agenda here? Sorry, but the apostles were men, just another case of the feminisation of the Church.

Anyway, yes, we are at least half way through the Triduum, my parish is having stations of the Cross and veneration of a relic of the true cross this evening. I’m not sure my knees will enjoy it but if you are going to do holy week, why not do everything?

There is something great about almost completely orientating your life towards God, even if it is only for three days. I’ve been to monasteries, I’m not sure I could do it for life myself, but I do understand the attraction.

We also had the ecumenical event today, *sigh* well I went and made my priest happy, but I couldn’t remember the words to the prayer for England and forgot to take it with me so I’ll pray them now. I guess It is nice to be reminded of some of the reasons I’m not Anglican anymore; the pomposity coupled with the excruciating attempts to be ‘trendy’ and ‘relevant’ were far harder to bear than the cross we were carrying, that’s glass half full thinking there :D.

O Blessed Virgin Mary, Mother of God and our most gentle Queen and Mother, look down in mercy upon England thy Dowry and upon us all who greatly hope and trust in thee.

By thee it was that Jesus our Saviour and our hope was given unto the world; and He has given thee to us that we might hope still more.

Plead for us thy children, whom (This very day)
thou didst receive and accept at the foot of the cross.

O sorrowful Mother! intercede for our separated brethren, that with us in the one true fold they may be united to the supreme Shepherd, the Vicar of thy Son.

Pray for us all, dear Mother, that by faith fruitful in good works we may all deserve to see and praise God, together with thee, in our heavenly home.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

