To troll or not to troll, is that the question?

This is a reply to a negative comment sent me about a comment I made on an entirely different blog, which I don’t want to approve because it may be the begining of a troll fight, but I will reply here and he can read it and I can read his replies. It regards my rather robust opinion on the irreverant way Fr Pat day celebrates the Holy Mass.

Well I have had the misfortune to witness the Holy Mass as said by Fr Day, two or three times (one of which was a rememberance Sunday.) The Mass was treated as if it were a stand up routine, with segues to the ‘audience’ even directly before the words of consecration. It was excruciating to see such liturgical tomfoolery at the very pinicle of our faith, the Holy Mass, the greatest gift God continually gives to His Church.

I have also heard that pastorally as a hospital chaplain Fr Day is brilliant, but it is his understanding of his priestly vocation in the Mass that worries me. I have even doubted how much of Christ Fr Day actually thinks is present in the Eucharist, there should be no room for such doubts even if they are unfounded, thus there is a parish in middlesborough diocese I can’t attend in good conscience and I am somehow at fault for having a negative opinion on that fact…

Anyway my troll/brother in Christ called me and James Preece sanctimonious, odious, prideful, uncharitable, arrogant and unCatholic all in one go which I ventured to opine could perhaps be percieved as quite sanctimonious in itself. I put it to mr troll/brother in Christ that he didn’t know me in person and he probably didn’t know James either, who is a very gentle and down to earth Chap.

Like me he wants to see Fr Day treat the Mass with the obediant love and care that it deserves and what vast numbers of clergy daily give their lives to uphold. I was robust in my rhetoric and I’m sorry if that offended Mr Troll/brother in Christ, but are we not allowed to have an opinion on the liturgical abuse that is a blight upon the faithful’s ability to participate in the Holy Mass?

How could Fr Day be a better priest? simple, say the black and do the red, who are we to have such opinions, we are Catholic laity! (incidentally on the say the black do the red front perhaps the congregation for divine worship might agree with us on this one)

Your loving brother in Christ

Catholic Shinobi

Leave a Reply

