Gooeyness. And Kneeling.

Ok you can tell I must be in a dark place that I find solace in this article.

Perhaps there is hope for me yet??? That’s the nice happy cheery part of this post over, perhaps like the Deer Hunter you should stop the tape before the characters go to Vietnam: if you prefer to live a happy and cheery spongebob squarepants existence then read no further.

On a different note I think this whole kneeling for communion incident has affected me much more deeply than I thought.

I’ve given it some thought and I’ve realised that by far the most important reason why I  converted from Anglicanism to Catholicism is because of the belief in the presence of Christ in the Eucharist, body soul and divinity. (a belief I had before I was Catholic, but realised the Anglican Church didn’t share).

Though I’ve tried to go with the flow, to stand to receive communion, now I can’t stomach it. Its like when you are in a Church and the Priest says “let us pray”, your legs jerk themselves upright! and if nobody stands you feel like something is terribly confused, there is something horrifically twilight-zone-esque going on.

Now I feel that for me to stand to receive communion is a betrayal of my faith in the Eucharist, a betrayal of the very reason I became Catholic and of the greatest gift God gives to the Church, himself. I had no idea I felt this strongly about this till this Sunday!

I’m sure when I do bring this up my PP will say I’m making a mountain out of a molehill. At the moment I feel like saying the Eucharist really is a mountain! it is not a molehill! A mountain I’d much prefer to climb on my knees!

Leave a Reply

