X-Files, The Horror, The Horror.

These last two weeks I’ve been watching the X-files, back to back. Its superb TV. Watchable, entertaining, fun, and with well built characters who are also virtuous, Dana Scully is even a Catholic.  There is also horror though, the majority of episodes are ‘monster of the week’ episodes with little to do with the overarching narrative of the show.

I’ve got a confession to make, when it comes down to it, I’m a massive sissy when it comes to horror (I’m a bit of a sissy when it comes to everything 😛 ). Or maybe its just that I have these funny things called emotions that Hollywood denies men could possibly have. Anyway, I’ve never been a fan of horror, mainly because I think life has horrors enough without fictional ones, and that it is a lot easier to create something horrific than it is to create something edifying and genuinely uplifting rather than saccharine and cliche.

So there have been episodes I’ve sat through uncomfortably. The most intense of which has been The Calusari, (about demonisation of a family/child). On further study, it is also the only x-files episode with an 18 certificate from the BBFC. There is something deeply horrifying about demonic activity that no amount of secularism can temper. Deep down we all know what is unnatural, which is why even the most benign form of supernatural activity, such as a glass falling off a shelf on its own is startling. Something I’ve personally seen in the Ye Olde White Harte pub in Hull, with two witnesses… Demonisation/possession is something I hope I never witness, but I know it happens, the Church will always be involved in spiritual warfare.

Also while we are on the theme of things supernatural, I have also seen a UFO, when I was on a family beach holiday to Cornwall. I watched it for a good five minutes as it hovered silently over a hill before it went from stationary to the speed of a meteorite instantaneously, with no acceleration at all, it was a metallic grey cigar shape with no other features making it impossible to judge its size or how far away it was. So there you have it, those are my x-files if you will. Totally innocuous. Which makes me think that a lot more people have these experiences and don’t ever mention them.

Leave a Reply

