Wow, nothing like being kicked when you are down.

Well my wonderful TV arrived today, and it is GLORIOUS! and also HUGE! getting it up the stairs to my flat in itself was an epic task worthy of Hercules. Between two of us we managed it. It kinda dominates the room a little bit, its about three feet thick! I might re play Mass Effect 2 now that I’ll be able to read all the flavour text which was far too small on my old TV to be legible.  I’m so lucky to have such generous friends and truly thank God for this tiny miracle.

Now that we’ve got the good news out of the way, I need to talk about the tiny black cloud that seems to be following me around.  I just had a doctors appointment with my GP and I have never been so truly shocked by such an appalling standard of care in all my life (and with the NHS I have some personal horror stories to compare it with).

Mental Health and Transsexual health issues are difficult subjects I know but I didn’t expect to be given the brush off in such a staggering way.  I am furious and totally dejected at the same time. Needless to say this is the final straw, I will be changing doctor tomorrow.

The NHS is a total crap shoot, I think there must be something in its structure that nurtures and shields these appalling standards of care from scrutiny and correction, the whole thing needs a drastic shake up. I know putting GP’s through constant evaluation must be a massive drag and an unwanted distraction from actually caring for patients for the average good doctor, but there are bad eggs out there that give doctors a bad name and are probably responsible for a disproportionate amount of damage and they need to be weeded out with extreme prejudice and preferably thrown out through a plate glass window.

One thought on “Wow, nothing like being kicked when you are down.

  1. I’d get used to it if I were you – it took four years (four!) for me to be assessed for a simple tattoo removal, and that was with a supportive doctor who recommended me for the treatment immediately. Gender reassignment surgery (assuming that’s what you want) is much more costly, and with all the cuts that are being made, I expect that the situation will get worse before it gets better.

    p.s. Isn’t it ‘Transgender’ now? I thought ‘transsexual’ had fallen out of favour for some reason.

Leave a Reply

