Drama and my X-wing addiction

Well I’ve had a strange week, particularly board gaming night which happened at my riverside flat. Which went well… if you consider spending most of the evening giving statements to the emergency services as going well.

Through the window both myself and another member of our little group heard a shout then a loud splash then some splashing about in the water. I thought someone may have fallen in so I rang 999. Cue a huge effort by the emergency services to search the water. Including boats and a diver with sonar I think!
They really pulled out all the stops shy of a helicopter. Anyway, we had to guide them to where we heard the noises from and give statements etc etc.

My theory now is that a junkie from across the river was playing fetch with his dog after consuming his methadone, misjudged a throw, the dog jumped in the river, then promptly got out again, and neither thought anything more about it. So it was a colossal waste of time and money, but if it had been a person and I hadn’t rung it in I would be wracked with guilt so I guess I did what I had to do. Still makes me feel like a bit of an idiot, even though I know I did the right thing… (Why is that?)

Anyway in actual gaming news, our game of Cutthroat Caverns was nixed by the drama, but it looks like a fantastic game! We played a couple of rounds of King Of Tokyo, one of which I won with a last monster standing victory with Nova breath.

Then we rounded off the evening with a game of Carcassone, which included a couple of the expansions. This was very good for my ego because I comprehensively won with a staggering final score of 168. I finished off a big city with a Cathedral, I won the highest scoring farm I’ve ever seen, and I was scoring pretty well for most of the game too.

But before any of this I played a taster of x-wing with one of the guys who got there early. It is FANTASTIC! seriously good fun. My only problem with it is it has made me somewhat of an addict. You see its a collectible miniatures game, and they are rather beautifully sculpted and come prepainted, both of which means they are expensive. VERY expensive.

I’ve already sunk a significant chunk of money into the game… and I want to spend £53 on five more ships already. Then I’ll basically have one of every small rebel ship, and a comparable Imperial fleet, which isn’t even a particularly big set up considering that is without shelling out for any of the bigger ships (which get expensive in the extreme!) and a couple of the Imperial fighters that don’t really appeal to me.

Darth Vader’s TIE Advanced x1 is a bit lame by all accounts, and the TIE Phantom is cheating. It comes with a cloaking device even though Captain Nedar, in the Empire Strikes Back, says of the Millennium Falcon (which is much bigger than the Phantom) “No ship that small has a cloaking device!”

Generally I prefer the Imperial ships if I’m honest. Maybe I like how menacing they look? They are more strategic to play with and more maneuverable, but you have to co-ordinate your TIE fighters to bring the maximum amount of firepower to bear on the rebel ships because the rebel ships are significantly tougher. (With the exception of the TIE Defender, which is an absolute beast.) Talking of the TIE Defender, that is my favourite ship in all of science fiction so I am SO excited to finally be getting my hands on one.

So with my current spend I’ve got five TIE Fighters, one TIE Interceptor, one TIE Defender, three X-wings, an A-wing, an E-wing and a Z-95 Headhunter. Which at the moment is actually slightly biased towards the Rebels. That is crying out to be rectified. Maybe if I just got a TIE bomber? But the Imperial Aces pack, with its gorgeous alternative paint scheme TIE Interceptors looks so good! The only question is, how long will I be able to resist temptation?

Answer: probably not very long. Maybe I should have Poor Impulse Control tattooed on my forehead like one of the characters in the cyberpunk novel Snowcrash? I’m staggered to find out someone is actually trying to turn that into a film. Good luck to them, it’ll be a rather expensive feat of cinema to do so.

Leave a Reply

